ACORN the blog

Atlantic Canadian Organic Regional Network

Meet Our Summer Student, Mayme Lefurgey

Leave a comment

As a recent Mount Allison graduate–having made the decision to stay in Sackville for a few months leading up to my departure to grad school–I was eagerly looking for summer employment in the area. Knowing that ACORN had hired students in the past and having heard great things about the workplace, I emailed to see if there were any job opportunities. I knew very little about what the job would entail, or what the organization was even about…

Of course, I knew what organic meant (by vague definition), but I had no awareness of the scope of this term and the complex interconnections it has to all areas of my life. I also held the bias that organic choices were expensive and often backed by very strong political or environmental points of view, and I didn’t have enough exposure to fully adopt those as my own.

Growing up I had always valued healthy lifestyle choices, but overall I found the environmental movement intimidating as I did not understand all of its complexities and, in all truthfulness, had no idea where to start beyond buying eco-friendly shampoo and carrying a travel mug. I also felt like I had little time to get engaged and I didn’t realize that making a huge impact could begin in a very basic way–through making local and organic choices whenever possible.

In just a couple weeks since starting with ACORN, I’ve quickly realized that by choosing my community’s alternative food sources, such as the Saturday morning market, natural food store and organic bakery, I am making a very important contribution. Through these small lifestyle changes I am making a commitment to supporting the businesses and farm families in my area, a commitment to greener food choices with less environmental harms and lastly a commitment to my own health.

This discovery is just fascinating to me and I am eagerly learning more and more about adopting an organic lifestyle and the multitude of benefits it has. I am going to be posting regularly about my organic finds and experiences during my time here at ACORN, so please stay with me on this exciting journey!

Author: acornorganic

Atlantic Canadian Organic Regional Network. Vision ACORN aims to enhance the viability and growth of the Atlantic Canadian organic agricultural community through a unified regional network. Mission Statement ACORN is a non-profit organization that promotes organic agriculture by: Facilitating information exchange between and amongst organizations and individuals Coordinating non-formal education for producers through to consumers Networking with all interested parties both regionally and nationally Structure ACORN is a membership-based non-profit incorporated cooperative with an eleven member Board of Directors and an Executive Director.

Leave a Reply

